Skip to main navigation.


Southeastern Indiana Rural Electric Membership Corporation (REMC), headquartered in Osgood, Indiana, is a member-owned corporation that has supplied electric power to member-owners since its incorporation on April 29,1939. Southeastern Indiana REMC serves portions of Dearborn, Franklin, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, and Switzerland counties in southeast Indiana.

We are a distribution utility - we don't generate our own electricity. We purchase our power from Hoosier Energy, which is headquartered in Bloomington, Indiana.  Hoosier Energy is a generating and transmission cooperative which is owned and controlled by rural electrics in the southern and central parts of Indiana that receive electricity from that organization. 

The corporation is wholly-owned by the members it serves and is governed by a board of directors elected by member-owners in each of the 9 voting districts. Employees of the cooperative serve the many residential and industrial accounts. 

Southeastern Indiana REMC is one of the largest electric cooperatives in the state.   


Bylaws | Service Rules & Regulations


CO-OP Statistics (as of December 2016)

Employees:  68

Number of Members:  24,246

Number of Meters:  26,915

Miles of Line Energized:  3,213

Members Per Mile of Line:  7.5

Meters Per Mile of Line:  8.4

Power Supplier:  Hoosier Energy

Newsletter:  Co-op Hotline



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo